Hello. Again.

This is my second blog. When I started my last one – a food blog – I did it for several reasons:

  • I love food – making it and eating it
  • I love food blogs. And magazines. And books. And pictures. And drawings. And… you get it.
  • I wanted to be an active participating in the conversation

I did my best to emulate the bloggers I admired. It worked for awhile.

And then it didn’t.

Something about the format stopped appealing to me.

I took a hiatus. An extended one.

I felt inadequate about the presentation of my cooking and recipe writing. It took me awhile to straighten out how I could fit in the food writing sphere.

I think I finally did. And it’s going to be a little different.

And I don’t think it’s going to be all food. At least not at first. I hope you can excuse that. Or that you can find it wonderful in it’s own way. As a true extension of myself. Because, like you, I am not just about food.

I want to talk to you. About food. And love. And being outside. And having friends. And pets. And taking pictures. And the books we read. And the things we hear about. And see. And wonder. And the adventures we have. And the sadness we encounter. The lives we lead.

I need this for me more than anything else. I’ve let creativity run stagnant far too long now.

I’ve done the couch potato thing.

I’m ready to move. Be active. Get the blood running through me again and the ideas coming out. And it’s hard.

I’m sure you know. Who hasn’t been there? But some of us naturally bounce back and others (yes, hello.) have a more difficult time of it.

So this is about bouncing back. Or slowly rolling over and creeping out of your little tortoise shell. Whichever is more you.

We’ll meet in the middle or so.

What I really wanted to do today was introduce myself.

Liz at the beachMy name is Liz.
I am 23 years old.
I have a degree in Political Science from Vassar, but I no longer pay attention to current events unless they directly concern me.
I run marketing for a hot tub and sauna company three days a week.
I work in a bookstore two days a week (I am contractually obligated not to blog about it. Seriously.)

Likes: Food, Knitting, Writing, Books, Hiking, Camping, Walks with Zepp and Dan, Walks with Zepp Just Us, Beer and Pool, Sitcoms, Sewing, Photography, Shopping for Office Supplies, Road Trips, Dinner Parties

Dislikes: The Dentist, Liver, Whiskey, Long Winters, Retail, Leggings As Pants (they are a substitute for tights), Cleaning

DanThis is Dan.
He is also 23 years old.
We’ve been together four years (wow!).
He also has a degree in PoliSci from Vassar and pays more attention to the stock market than the political realm.
He works in advertising by morning and in pizza by night (well, he makes pasta and sandwiches in a pizzeria).

Likes: Hard Work, Hiking, Camping, Beer and Pool, Learning, Investing, Pizza, Road Trips, Marketing, Music, Guitar, Drums, Skulls (mostly things with skulls on them, nothing creepy)

Dislikes: TV (except for a few choice shows), Milk and Its Affiliated Products (except for a few choice cheeses), Clutter, Shopping

Zepp in WoodsThis is Zepp.
He is almost one.
He is a miniature Australian Shepherd.
He doesn’t have to do anything except have fun and nap all day

Likes: Leaves, String, Long Walks, Towels, Chew Toys Shaped Like Dinosaurs

Dislikes: Thunderstorms, Any Kind of Water (except the drinking kind), Liz Talking on the Phone

That’s my family.

Long post, I know. But I wanted to start off properly and let you know what to expect of me and this space.

Feel free to say hi in the comments if I know you and if I don’t. It’s the only way to have a conversation. 🙂

12 responses to “Hello. Again.

  1. I like this. ;]

  2. THIS IS THE BEST

  3. I also like this. You know us well. 🙂

  4. I came by because of the auto links that someone followed to my blog from here. I love your new directions even though I never read the old blog. Great job. I’ll be back.

  5. I love seeing you back in the blogosphere. Welcome home, my friend. I think this new venture sounds wonderful! Can’t wait to see more. xoxoxo

    Oh and PS: I have a degree in Poly Sci too and I do my best to avoid politics now!

    • Liz@Needles&Bread

      Thank you so much! I feel so much more at ease with this new idea of my space, I’m glad to see you back.

      I think that’s what you really learn after studying politics. You either really want to be involved or you’re so burnt out on the world you just want to retreat into the kitchen.

  6. this makes me happy 🙂
    I miss you.

    • Liz@Needles&Bread

      I miss you too, Chelsea! I’m glad you followed me on Twitter because maybe now I’ll actually use it. I still don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

