New Year / Rack of Lamb

The holidays are always hectic for me. Mostly because I’m pretty terrible at planning things in advance. It’s a hard skill to learn. As such, my holiday updates always seem to be a little delayed.

That is going to start changing. And you, friends, are going to help me.

You are going to help me with a little thing called Accountability.

Rack of Lamb Plated

Accountability.

I’m going to tell you what my goals are for the coming year, and by telling you, I will actually need to follow through otherwise in a month I’m going to have to tell you all how lame I am.

I don’t want you guys to think I’m lame. I like you.

So while Christmas was splendid, and I have a delicious rack of lamb recipe to share with you, I’m going to spend a moment letting you know my 2011 Year of Proactivity Game Plan.

Get Up In The Morning.

I realize this sounds silly.

But it’s super hard. I am NOT a morning person. Though I love the morning. So it’s a tough place to be in. I want to get enough sleep the night before – on a regular basis – to get up, walk Zepp with Dan, and have time for some exercise and breakfast before going to work.

Zeppy Smelling Leaf

Yoga.

Yoga is going to be my gateway exercise. I just signed up for yoga classes via yogaglo.com, they’re a really cool Santa Monica, CA based website/studio that offers HD videos of their yoga classes after the fact. They have a beginner’s series that I’m excited to try out that introduces you to the various types of yoga so you can figure out what works best for you.

Vines Thorns and Berries

Writing.

I am going to focus on my writing this year. I am going to take it seriously. I am going to improve. Maybe by the end of the year, I will submit some pieces to publications. Or something. Either way, the goal is to keep writing, take myself seriously, and believe that I can make writing, food, and knitting my lifestyle.

I would also like to update the blog a little more frequently. Maybe twice a week, one food and one knitting post. I like the sounds of that.

Curried Risotto with Spoon

Knitting.

We discussed this a bit over here, when I made that sweater. The goal is to be designing my own knitwear by 2012.

Paintball Bench

Food.

We know I love food, but I get lazy. Not in 2011. I am going to start actually planning a menu weekly. Something I can stick to. Something that will help me not waste vegetables because I forget to use them. I will be more conscientious about what we eat and how we eat. I will start eating breakfast. Or at least a piece of fruit. I will pack lunches instead of going out. We will be healthy.

Liz and Dan

I’m really glad the new year is starting very tidly at the end of the week.

I’ve already begun incorporating some of this into my routine already so it’s not a complete shocker on January 1. I’m optimistic about the coming year and it’s going to be a very transitional one – I can feel it. But I’m confident that we will only be going in good – and new – directions.

I hope everyone feels good about the upcoming year.

If not, make this lamb recipe. It will make your belly happy.

Rack of Lamb

RECIPE

Rack of Lamb
Serves 6

Ingredients

2 Frenched Racks of Lamb – fat trimmed
If you are buying your lamb from the butcher, make sure to ask him to french the racks for you. From what I’ve read in various articles on racks of lamb on the internet, you do not want to french them yourself unless you have a really sharp know and really know what you’re doing.
Olive Oil
Rosemary
Fresh or dried, I had dried from what I grew this summer.
Salt and Pepper
You can season these anyway you like, really. Rosemary is traditional and delicious. You can even add even coat them in breadcrumbs. Whatever you like is best in such a simple recipe.

  • Heat the oven to 400° F.
  • Trim excess fat off the rack of lamb.
  • Brush each rack with some olive oil – probably about 1 Tbs each if you want to be precise. I just poured some on and spread it around.
  • Sprinkle each with rosemary, salt, and pepper.
  • Bake for about 6-7 minutes.
  • Drop the temperature to 300° F and cook for another ten minutes or so.
  • You want the internal temperature of the lamb to be 135° F when you take it out of the oven. I would check the temperature for the first time around 8 minutes in. Cooking time will vary based on your oven and how thick each rack is.
  • When the internal temperature is 135° F, remove the racks from the oven and let rest for 10-15 minutes.
  • Carve in between the bones.
  • Serve.

I served my racks of lamb with roasted rosemary potatoes, pan fried white asparagus with lemon, and curried butternut squash risotto.

9 responses to “New Year / Rack of Lamb

  1. I agree, getting up in the morning is key. I stopped doing that recently and all of my projects came to a grinding halt. Seriously, there’s something to be said for physically getting out of bed.

    PS Zepp is adorable. I love his floppy ears. 🙂

    • Yeah, having mornings makes my day so much better. I did a half hour of yoga today! A half hour!

      And thank you…. Zepp is quite the little darling and he knows it lol

  2. Liz,

    The rack of lamb and sides were totally delicious. The lamb was cooked to perfection. Don’t forget to mention the risotto you made with the lamb. I think they went together beautifully. Now back on the treadmill until the next feast. Mom

    • LOL, mom. I’m glad you liked everything, it’s always nice when everyone likes your meal. And I did mention the risotto, at the bottom, where I said what I served it with. 😛

  3. My new favourite meat to make for special occasions! I also made rack of lamb for New Year’s dinner, also just with rosemary, salt and pepper. That’s all it needs!

    Good luck with your goals for 2011 🙂

  4. It’s great for the holidays because it’s so easy to make but it tastes and looks super fancy!

    And thank you, I wish I could say I was doing better with my goals, but old habits die hard. I’m working hard on taking baby steps towards all of them, though, and I feel like it’s mostly working out for me and that I will only improve as the year goes on. 🙂

  5. Pingback: February Food For Thought | Needles&Bread

  6. Yesterday, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive
    a 30 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple
    ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with
    someone!

  7. Aw, this was a very nice post. Spending some time and actual effort to
    generate a good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a whole lot and
    never seem to get anything done.

Leave a Reply

